Compendium · Africa · Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe: VAT on digital services
Flag and locator map are self-hosted static assets (flag-icons MIT; Natural Earth public domain). Attribution.
Not supported by the free-threshold API · Local term: VAT
Last verified: 2026-10-29
Foreign suppliers of electronic/digital services consumed in Zimbabwe must register for VAT via ZIMRA TaRMS simplified e-commerce module when turnover exceeds or is expected to exceed US$25,000 in any 12 months. Standard VAT 15.5% (VAT-inclusive pricing). From 1 Jan 2026, Zimbabwean payment intermediaries withhold 15.5% for unregistered foreign suppliers, or 3/23 for registered suppliers (creditable against VAT due)
Free-threshold row proposed in
Spot a mistake in Zimbabwe’s rules?
Open a public correction issue on Gitea (sign in or create an account). The form is prefilled with this page’s URL and a short template, and asks for the correction label. Accepted corrections become a reviewed diff on the rules dataset — rule fixes belong in botchannels-app, not a silent change on this site.
Threshold and rates (VAT)
- Free threshold?
- Yes — Free-threshold row proposed in
- Amount / measure
- USD 25,000
Registration when sales into the jurisdiction reach USD 25,000. calendar year approximates rolling 12-month tests where applicable - Window
- Calendar year
- Standard rate
- 15.5%
VAT 15.5% on digital services (ZIMRA Public Notice 05 of 2026). Engine still encodes 15.0 — see contradictions - Who must register
- Foreign suppliers of electronic/digital services consumed in Zimbabwe above the threshold
- Evidence of location
- Services consumed in Zimbabwe. Fixed multi-evidence checklist: Not specified in official English guidance as of 2026-10-29
- Invoicing
- Prices must be VAT-inclusive at 15.5%. Registered suppliers may credit intermediary withholding (3/23) against VAT due
- Filing
- Per ZIMRA TaRMS e-commerce module schedule after registration. Exact day-of-month: follow TaRMS / ZIMRA notice
- Effective
- Digital services VAT via TaRMS; withholding by payment intermediaries from 1 Jan 2026 (Public Notice 05 of 2026)
- Authority
- Zimbabwe Revenue Authority (ZIMRA)
What Botchannels returns
- Ruleset version
2026-10-22.v1- Decision summary
- Botchannels does not open free-threshold sales here. Register (or appoint a representative) before selling.
- Product class
- Digital service
- Support status
- Not supported by the free-threshold API — Free-threshold row proposed in
How to register
- Self-register online?
- Yes — ZIMRA TaRMS simplified e-commerce VAT registration for digital services. Public Notice 05 of 2026 summaries do not state a mandatory local representative
- Resident representative / fiscal agent
- Not stated as mandatory for TaRMS e-commerce registration in Public Notice 05 of 2026 summary
- Regime
- ZIMRA TaRMS simplified e-commerce VAT for digital services. Watch the US$25,000 / 12-month threshold and intermediary withholding rules (from 1 Jan 2026 in public notices)
Steps (in order)
- Confirm digital services consumed in Zimbabwe and whether the US$25,000 / 12-month threshold is met or expected
- Register via ZIMRA TaRMS simplified e-commerce module — https://www.zimra.co.zw/
- Provide company details and any supporting documents TaRMS requests
- Charge 15.5% VAT-inclusive; account for intermediary withholding from 1 Jan 2026; file/pay per TaRMS schedule
Documents
- TaRMS e-commerce registration — Completed in ZIMRA TaRMS
- Company details / incorporation evidence — As required by ZIMRA checklist
- Official processing time
- ZIMRA does not publish an English service-level time for TaRMS e-commerce registration on the pages reviewed as of 2026-10-29
- Official fees
- No ZIMRA registration fee summarised on the English materials reviewed; agent fees are commercial
- Portal
- https://www.zimra.co.zw/
- Local bank account
- Not specified as mandatory in official English guidance as of 2026-10-29; remittances follow ZIMRA / TaRMS payment instructions (often USD)
- Filing frequency
- Per TaRMS / ZIMRA digital services schedule after registration
- Payment currency
- USD / as directed by ZIMRA
- Input VAT recovery
- Simplified digital regimes typically remit output tax only; confirm with ZIMRA / adviser
- Portal language
- English ZIMRA / TaRMS materials
- Penalties
- ZIMRA may assess tax, interest and penalties for non-compliance; exact English schedule not summarised as of 2026-10-29
Firms offering this service
Non-exhaustive. Not an endorsement. Links checked live on 2026-10-29; confirm current offerings, licences, and fees directly with each firm before engaging
- KPMG South Africa (Zimbabwe desk via regional network) — Regional entry; ask for Zimbabwe tax desk
Official sources
ZIMRA Public Notice 05 of 2026 — Digital Services Tax (VAT)
ZIMRA — VAT registration
Last verified: 2026-10-29.
FAQ
- Is there a free VAT/GST threshold for foreign digital sellers?
- Yes — USD 25,000 (engine approximation). Proposed in
- Is a local tax representative mandatory?
- Not stated as mandatory for TaRMS e-commerce registration
- What rate applies?
- 15.5% VAT
- Is this tax advice?
- No. This page summarises official VAT/GST rules for foreign digital sellers. It is not tax or legal advice