Compendium · Africa · Rwanda
Rwanda: VAT on digital services
Flag and locator map are self-hosted static assets (flag-icons MIT; Natural Earth public domain). Attribution.
Not supported by the free-threshold API · Local term: VAT
Last verified: 2026-10-29
Ministerial Order nº 004/26/10/TC (29 April 2026) requires suppliers of taxable online goods and services to customers in Rwanda, while the supplier is outside Rwanda, to register for VAT (or appoint a Rwanda-based representative). No separate non-resident turnover threshold appears in the Order. If the supplier/representative is unregistered, financial institutions that facilitate payment withhold VAT (Art. 8). Standard VAT rate 18%
Nil-threshold regime
Spot a mistake in Rwanda’s rules?
Open a public correction issue on Gitea (sign in or create an account). The form is prefilled with this page’s URL and a short template, and asks for the correction label. Accepted corrections become a reviewed diff on the rules dataset — rule fixes belong in botchannels-app, not a silent change on this site.
Threshold and rates (VAT)
- Free threshold?
- No — Nil-threshold regime
- Amount / measure
- RWF 0
No registration threshold for non-resident digital / electronic-service B2C suppliers — register from first in-scope supply - Window
- No threshold (from the first sale)
- Standard rate
- 18.0%
Standard VAT 18% (Law n° 049/2023 establishing VAT, as amended) - Who must register
- Non-resident suppliers of taxable online goods/services to customers in Rwanda (or their Rwanda-based representative)
- Evidence of location
- Buyer location / payment / access proxies per Order Art. 5 (recipient in Rwanda, consumption in Rwanda, Rwanda payment or SIM/IP proxies)
- Invoicing
- Charge 18% VAT on in-scope online supplies to Rwanda customers when registered. Keep records supporting place-of-supply proxies in Art. 5
- Filing
- Registered suppliers (or representatives) declare and pay VAT each tax period by the 15th of the following month. Payment facilitators that withhold declare by the 15th of the month after withholding
- Effective
- Ministerial Order nº 004/26/10/TC published 29 April 2026; compliance window of three months for portal / registration (Art. 25)
- Authority
- Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA)
What Botchannels returns
- Ruleset version
2026-10-22.v1- Decision summary
- Botchannels does not open free-threshold sales here. Register (or appoint a representative) before selling.
- Product class
- Digital service
- Support status
- Not supported by the free-threshold API — Nil-threshold regime
How to register
- Self-register online?
- Yes — register for VAT with RRA for online goods/services supplied while you are outside Rwanda, or appoint a Rwanda-based representative to register in your place (Order Art. 4(2))
- Resident representative / fiscal agent
- Optional but permitted: Rwanda-based representative may fulfil registration (Art. 4(2))
- Regime
- RRA VAT registration for online goods/services (or appointment of a Rwanda-based representative)
Steps (in order)
- Confirm online goods/services are supplied to customers in Rwanda while you are outside Rwanda (Order Art. 4–5)
- Register for VAT with RRA via the tax administration portal, or appoint a representative with a business in Rwanda to register in your place — https://www.rra.gov.rw/
- Provide incorporation / appointment documents as the RRA checklist requires
- Account for and remit VAT per Art. 8–9; if unregistered, payment facilitators withhold. File by the 15th of the month after the tax period
Documents
- RRA VAT registration application — Via the RRA portal / tax administration channel
- Representative appointment (if used) — Written appointment of a Rwanda-based representative with a local business (Art. 4(2))
- Incorporation / business evidence — As specified by the tax administration portal
- Official processing time
- RRA does not publish an English service-level time for non-resident online-supplier VAT registration on the pages reviewed as of 2026-10-29
- Official fees
- No RRA registration fee summarised on the English materials reviewed; representative/agent fees are commercial
- Portal
- https://www.rra.gov.rw/
- Local bank account
- Not specified as mandatory in the Order text reviewed 2026-10-29; remittances follow RRA payment instructions
- Filing frequency
- Monthly return / payment by the 15th of the following month (Art. 9)
- Payment currency
- RWF (or as directed by RRA)
- Input VAT recovery
- Not specified for non-resident online suppliers in the English materials reviewed as of 2026-10-29; typically output-focused
- Portal language
- English / Kinyarwanda / French RRA materials
- Penalties
- RRA may assess tax, interest and penalties for non-compliance under Rwandan VAT law
Firms offering this service
Non-exhaustive. Not an endorsement. Links checked live on 2026-10-29; confirm current offerings, licences, and fees directly with each firm before engaging
- KPMG Rwanda — Member firm
Official sources
RRA — Ministerial Order nº 004/26/10/TC (VAT on online goods/services), 29 Apr 2026
RRA — Value Added Tax
Last verified: 2026-10-29.
FAQ
- Is there a free VAT/GST threshold for foreign digital sellers?
- No — register from the first in-scope supply. Botchannels
- How does a foreign seller register?
- Register with RRA for VAT on online goods/services, or appoint a Rwanda-based representative (Order Art. 4)
- Is this tax advice?
- No. This page summarises official VAT/GST rules for foreign digital sellers. It is not tax or legal advice